Safari Park – Butterfly Exhibit


I’ve been wanting to go to the butterfly exhibit at Safari Park for a couple of years now and I finally got a chance to go today. There were butterflies everywhere and I had so much fun inside the exhibit. But the weather did get a bit warm inside, and pretty humid too. I don’t have a macro lens, so I got to use my 85 mm again today. A couple of the butterflies landed on my baby carrier, right in front of Ethan’s face. I don’t even think he noticed, but at one point I thought he was going to try to have a taste of the butterfly. I definitely want to go back and try to capture photos of Ethan with the butterflies.

6 thoughts on “Safari Park – Butterfly Exhibit

    • Thanks, I’m hoping to visit the park again so hopefully I can get some more photos. Do you have any suggestions on the composition? I’ve never photographed butterflies before, so I’m not sure what the best way to go about it is. I also had a baby strapped onto me so I couldn’t move around as much as I would’ve liked.

      • I’m not particularly thinking only for butterflies.
        My first priority in my photographs is always composition.
        But I think about getting butterfly, I would try to get eyes closely, even butterfly in the whole photo with wings wide open.
        I even like your 3rd and 4th photo, they just need better cropping for make better composition.

        Take care of your baby. Keep clicking 🙂

  1. These are wonderful. When I lived in south Florida we had a wonderful butterfly park, and coincidentally, it was when our oldest was in a baby carrier and so many were landing all over the carrier. That “owl” butterfly (3rd photo) was one of my favorites. All of these are so cleanly captured and pop with so much color. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks Brandon. Next time I have to take my husband with me so I can take pictures of Ethan with the butterflies. I have a couple of weeks before the exhibit is over so maybe I can get a couple more trips in.

Leave a Reply

